Updates on Scrivener and Tinderbox

I have now used Scrivener for two cycles of editing a magazine. The program gives me everything I need, very solid and stable environment for both writing and editing. Well done, Scrivener.

Over the past two months I have begun using Tinderbox for almost all notetaking. I am getting more familiar with the program and have succeeded in providing a little automation. My next project involves looking at linking and some potential for further analysis. Well done, Tinderbox!

About exegete77

disciple of Jesus Christ, husband, father, grandfather, great-grandfather, teacher, and theologian
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Updates on Scrivener and Tinderbox

  1. Hi there, I am a seminary student who recently took the plunge into Tinderbox and have fallen straight in love with it. I found you on welcome to sherwood and the macforums, saw your username, and hoped you used this for Bible notes as well. We need more students of the Bible who work as hard as students of humanities, etc. Kudos to you, sir!

    I currently use TB to create curriculums and brainstorm books, and it fills a unique hole in my workflow between Devonthink and Scrivener. I struggle discerning how to use it with DEVON, but I’m slowly coming to terms with it. I keep al my Bible notes in DEVON as .txt files, but I am starting a TBX for all that in order to take advantage of the links to show connections within the canon. I’ve come up with a few different ideas regarding structuring and attributes, but I’ve still yet to land on something solid.

    I thought maybe you could shed some light and/or be willing to brainstorm with me about this; maybe we can come up with something really useful that would function as a mini-database of notes that maintains the depth of each text while also showing the intertextual weight of each ref. I normally don’t like big TBX documents, but I think one coherent note for the Bible would be killer.

    You can email me or just reply to this post, whatever you prefer: asetser@covenantbapt.org

    Thank you!

    Like

    • exegete77 says:

      Greetings. Thanks for your post.

      I have mainly concentrated on Scrivener, due to the changing nature of my work. Since I posted originally I am also pastoring a church as well as being seminary president and professor. I have the entire curriculum in Scrivener, with four main folders (Exegetical, Systematics, Historical, and Practical), then each contains the syllabus and weekly guides for each course. I still use Tinderbox as my catch all note taking. It is nowhere near what I want to do with it, but time has been a major factor in the past 3 ½ years. I do have DevonThink Pro Office, but only use it sporadically. Again, I would like to expand my use of both TBX and DTP Office.

      I would like to go back to TBX for the organization of the curriculum. For Bible study notes, I tend to use Accordance, so that the notes are with the texts.

      One of the things I have discovered about myself is that while I am quite proficient with the computer and programs, I am really a paper and pen kind of student and notetaker. I think that is why Scrivener feels more natural to me. I have every class note, paper drafts of every seminary class from 30+ years ago (I had my college notes [1967-1971] and NPGS notes [1977-1979] as well, but lost all those in a fire in 1998). My seminary notes were at the church not the parsonage and so were saved. I had a very good system for taking notes and quickly finding what I needed, and still works for me. My challenge is to make the transition in my mind to the way TBX and DTP Office work. Haven’t fully made that leap.

      Maybe I will post a few examples of this.

      Like

Comments are closed.