On reading books

Catching up on my reading lists:

I have been reading quite a bit lately. Up until 1998 I would read 4-5 fiction books, 2-3 historical books, plus 3-4 theological books every week. But since then have not read many historical works. Now I read 2-4 fiction books per week and always have 3-5 theological books in progress. So here is my update on theological and historical reading.

Theological books to review:

Soon I will post book reviews of the following theological ones. I have finished reading the first two.

Brunn, Dave. One Bible, Many Versions: Are All Translations Created Equal? IVP Academic, 2013.

Bateman, Herbert IV. Charts on the Book of Hebrews (Kregel Charts of the Bible and Theology). Kregel Publications, 2012.

Kierspel, Lars. Charts on the Life, Letters, and Theology of Paul (Kregel Charts of the Bible). Kregel Publications, 2012.

Harvey, John. Interpreting the Pauline Letters: An Exegetical Handbook (Handbooks for New Testament Exegesis). Kregel Academic, 2012.

And a change of pace

I have read many history books over thepast 45 years. Usually I will read several books on a specific topic or time period, then move on to another. In early adulthood, I read much on World War II; my father, uncle, and father-in-law all served in the Pacific, so it was close to my heart and family. A neighbor had been a survivor of the Bataan Death March. When I went into the Navy in the early 1970’s Watergate was becoming big news. So for a few years that topic interested me.

World War I also fascinated me, because several of our neighbors had fought in the War. I helped several of them with their farming, etc. They never talked about it, but one had suffered miserably from it. I had read a few books over a period of 4-5 years, but eventually quit reading anything on it.

The futility of WWI and the stupidity of many leaders finally overwhelmed me. The stubbornness of leaders sending hundreds of thousands of troops into certain death just did not set right with me. This last week when I was looking for more books to read, my wife picked up one on display. She looked at it and I checked it out.

Groom, Winston. A Storm in Flanders the Ypres Salient, 1914-1918: Tragedy and Trumph on the West. New York, NY Atlantic Monthly Press, 2002.

Cover of "A Storm in Flanders: The Ypres ...

Cover via Amazon

And so I begin another journey into this war. My heart still aches at the senseless suffering and death. But this book is so well written that I am drawn into it. The author does more than present the agony of death; he invites us into a better sense of it throughout the 4+ years of fighting.

About exegete77

disciple of Jesus Christ, husband, father, grandfather, great-grandfather, teacher, and theologian
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.