Lest We Forget

Is our memory as long as the last media clip on the internet? Is our attention drawn to the urgent—always? Nearly 50 years ago a book was published with the title Tyranny of the Urgent. The problem? The urgent often clouds our ability to see the important. Has that changed in the last 50 years? Not really. What about headlines that capture us today, but are forgotten within hours or days?

The Need

I have written about abuse in its various forms. How devastating it can be within families, communities, churches. The affects of abuse are much longer lasting than we want to admit. Therefore, when we know someone who is coming out of an abusive situation, what kind of timeline do we set for “getting back to normal”? Unless we are intimately involved in the care, we might be tempted to set a timeline for them. Rather, as Christians let’s refrain from that and take a different approach.

It has been eight days and yet how many have already forgotten?

Gina DeJesus

Michelle Knight

Amanda Berry and Jocelyn Berry

What kind of news coverage is happening now? Thankfully, they have asked that the media step away from them and their families. Good for them! They need time, space, safety, love, and help. They have at least 10 years of days they want to forget. But let’s not forget these women.

We don’t need to rush to Cleveland to listen to them. We can speak to God who listens to each of our prayers. These people need continued prayers and support.

We take time now, to remember each of them, and their new lives. They have much to learn and unlearn. There may be times of painful memories, flashbacks, nightmares, and sadness, and perhaps depression. Most importantly we ask God to bring them peace, safety, and wholeness in Jesus Christ.

Our Prayer

Lord God, we as a nation were shocked by the details of the kidnapping, rape, and abuse that these women endured. Sin is horrible in any manifestation, any kind of outer dress that it is enclosed in. We lift up to Your throne of grace Gina, Michelle, Amanda, and Jocelyn. As deep as their physical, emotional, and spiritual wounds are, You are the God who understands, who cares, who loves especially in the worst of times. According to Your great mercy, work all that is necessary in their lives. Surround them with people of love and patience. Grant them nights of rest, free from fear, uncertainty, and confusion. Sustain them each step of the way as You grant healing of body, mind, and soul; through Jesus Christ, Your Son, our Lord, who lives and reigns with You and the Holy Spirit, one God now and forever. Amen

And for others…

Perhaps you know someone in an abusive relationship. You can adjust this prayer, or say it in your own words. Regardless, prayers for those who are or have been abused are an important part of our plea as Christians before our God.

Lest we forget

About exegete77

disciple of Jesus Christ, husband, father, grandfather, great-grandfather, teacher, and theologian
This entry was posted in Oratio, Tentatio. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lest We Forget

  1. angie says:

    I wonder how they will ever get past it. Here I am, 32 years removed from abuse, and I still suffer from PTSD. My suffering wasn’t nearly as bad as these women went through, and I still break out in a cold sweat when I’m around my parents. Abuse is horrible, there is no doubt. I cling to God’s promises that He will be with me, even when I still have to stand up for myself. That seems to cause so much guilt for me.

    Like

    • Jenni says:

      Hi angie, Sending hugs your way ((((angie)))) I’ve been on the receiving end too. My suggestion would be to give it to God. I certainly can’t make it go away…we humans are so weak. Give it to God. It’s not an easy thing to do at first. The more you give things to God the better you will be feeling. I’ll be praying for you.

      Like

  2. Frances O'Brien says:

    You’re absolutely right, Jenni. I, too, suffered from PTSD many years and it was from only one experience– but that one was a lulu! And Angi, if you’re wondering how you can “give it to God”, just speak your thoughts and feelings to Him in prayer. Tell Him everything, including your present feelings about your parents. (He knows anyway, but confessing it will help you.) Then ask for help. I would not attempt to guess what form that help will take, but it probably will be one you don’t expect. Mine was. I’m praying for both of you.

    Like

    • angie says:

      I almost feel as though I’m being blamed here for not doing better by now. I know you both mean well, but I have the feeling that you don’t think I’ve done a good enough job of giving this up to God. Maybe you are right. I guess what I was trying to say in my first post is that abuse does horrible things to people with life long consequences. I know God loves me, and He is always beside me. But my pain is real, and I can’t help that.

      Like

      • exegete77 says:

        Thanks for commenting, Angie. Your statement: “abuse does horrible things to people with life long consequences” reflects the exact focus of this post. For these women in Cleveland, it won’t be a 10 year recovery, but a lifetime. You are experiencing that firsthand.

        You also wrote: “my pain is real, and I can’t help that.” That is critical for all of us to remember. To urge you to “try harder” can often be self-defeating because it is Law based (”you do something”). Ultimately, it is the assurance of God’s love, even in the midst of the real pain. And the refrain that Jesus gives: “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

        Blessings, Angie.

        Like

  3. angie says:

    Thanks, Rich. You have helped me today.

    Blessings to you as well.

    Like

Comments are closed.