What do we see?

A new voice

I have asked a friend to write a post for this blog.

=========

This morning I leave the house at dawn and I’m surprised to see a light frost on the ground. Everything is white, encased in frost. Because of several years of draught I’ve grown accustomed to brown. Lack of water is the problem that plagues us. But white frost is a treat to enjoy for the few minutes until the sun rises and melts the frost to reveal the brown again. As I drive on I ask God to explain this scene that He has put before me. The real draught, He explains, is the lack of love that encases the world, encases me. “When you look through your eyes you see what the world sees and not as I see.”

I have to admit that when I see the homeless man before me, the first thing that I see is the messiness. I’m looking through the eyes of the world and not the eyes of Christ. I may feel compassion but I do not instantly feel love. When I’m reminded to see with Christ’s eyes I see the person that is loved by God; loved so much that He died for that person. That’s when the frost around my heart starts to melt as the Son’s love shines through.

“Do for other people everything you want them to do for you.“If you love those who love you, do you deserve any thanks for that? Even sinners love those who love them. If you help those who help you, do you deserve any thanks for that? Sinners do that too. If you lend anything to those from whom you expect to get something back, do you deserve any thanks for that? Sinners also lend to sinners to get back what they lend. Rather, love your enemies, help them, and lend to them without expecting to get anything back. Then you will have a great reward. You will be the children of the Most High God. After all, he is kind to unthankful and evil people. Be merciful as your Father is merciful. (Luke 6:31-36 GW)

About exegete77

disciple of Jesus Christ, husband, father, grandfather, great-grandfather, teacher, and theologian
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What do we see?

  1. Kamea Hope says:

    Thank you for your honesty. I love the image of the frost, and the meaning that God revealed to you. It is so true that our first inclination is not to see things through the eyes of Christ, but through the broken lens of our own sinful nature. A wonderful reminder.

    Like

Comments are closed.